levels of assisted living

Learning About the Levels of Assisting Living: Which Is Right for You or Your Loved One?

Approximately 1 million people in the U.S. live in assisted living facilities, and experts predict that this number will significantly increase over the next few decades.

If you are considering moving to assisted living, or if you are encouraging a loved one to go to an assisted living facility, you might be wondering about the levels.

The levels of assisted living vary by provider, but most assisted living facilities offer at least three different levels to their residents.

Whether you need extra care and assistance for yourself or a loved one, you need to understand the levels of assisted living as you make this big decision.

If you’re ready to learn more about these levels, keep reading to gain a better understanding of the levels available for seniors who need some help.

Level 1: Independent Living

The first level of assisted living offers the most freedom to the residents, and facilities often call this independent living.

Independent living within an assisted living facility provides residents with an ideal mixture of independence and amenities. Residents who choose this option are generally in good health and can care for themselves for the most part.

The benefit of moving to an independent living facility is that you get to have your own apartment and space to live in. You get to keep the freedom that you love.

You will not have someone checking in on you all the time, but you will have access to help if you need it. You can choose the types of assistance you need and want, but you don’t have to accept help if you don’t need it.

You also get the benefit of living in a community with other seniors, which helps you combat the loneliness and isolation you may experience from living all alone in your home.

Isolation and loneliness are prevalent problems with seniors, and they can result in seniors experiencing more health problems, both physically and emotionally.

One additional benefit of independent living is the access it provides for extra amenities. You will have access to a fitness center, hair salon, and many other things. You also have access to meals each day.

Of all the types of assisted living that you can choose from, picking this level is a great place to start. Moving to an independent living facility can be a great stepping stone for you as you age and begin needing more assistance.

If you or your loved one is at the point where you feel lonely and may need some help with tasks, this is probably the right level for you to choose.

Level 2: Assisted Living

With senior care options, the next level is often called assisted living. Assisted living offers some freedom for the residents, yet it also provides a safe environment with assistance.

Residents who choose this level of care have access to staff 24 hours a day. They can receive assistance with daily tasks that they cannot complete by themselves, yet they can live in private units to have some independence and freedom.

Assisted living provides the ideal mixture of freedom and assistance for seniors who struggle to complete regular daily tasks.

This level of care is ideal for seniors who struggle with mobility issues. It is also perfect for seniors that do not require full-time care.

If you are searching for the right type of care for a loved one, consider the following things:

  • What does he or she need help with each day?
  • What tasks does he or she struggle with?
  • Is this person able to live unsupervised at home?
  • What is the most important service your loved one needs?

As you contemplate these questions, you might find that assisted living is the best choice for your loved one.

Level 3: Memory Care

Of all the levels of care for elderly people, the third level is the most extensive. This level is memory care, and its purpose is to care for people who need full-time care.

Most people do not initially move to an assisted living facility for this level of care. Instead, they choose a lower level at first. Over time, a senior’s needs may change, and he or she can move to a higher level of care when this change becomes necessary.

It’s important to note that people who move to a memory care unit typically struggle with the effects of dementia or Alzheimer’s.

When these diseases begin to affect a senior’s ability to think, he or she may require full-time care, and a memory care unit is ideal for these situations.

In a memory care unit, residents receive care around the clock. Staff is always present to care for the residents and their needs.

Those living in a memory care unit receive meals each day at the same time. They receive their medication on time each day, and they have someone there to bathe them and tend to their personal hygiene needs.

The staff working in a memory care unit are there to provide them with everything they need each day.

The Levels of Assisted Living Provide the Essential Care for Your Loved Ones

Understanding the levels of assisted living is an excellent place to start as you research the options available for you or a loved one.

No matter what, an assisted living center offers the essential care and assistance that you or your loved one needs at this time in life.

If you live in the Rankin County or Brandon, MS area, check out Flowood at Dove Mountain. Our facility offers services for all levels of care and assistance that you might need.

You can learn more by contacting us or by checking out our website for more information.